exercise routine

I’m trying to get fitter now that i ain’t got work to bog me down.

here’s what i do:

5 mins of jogging on the spot
3 sets of 10 pushups
3 sets of 10 crunches
3 sets of 10 squats
3 sets of 15 sec back stretches
3 sets of 15 sit ups

also looking into joining a gym… maybe with a personal trainer to make sure i’m not injuring myself.

went to one on friday and one of the things the guy introducing the equipment said to me was quite enlightening.

I told him that i wanted to strengthen my lower back because it’s the most painful part of my body after a full day of sitting in front of the computer. My understanding was that the back was getting strained from me sitting in a funny position all day. And the way of dealing with it is to do exercises that strengthen that area.

what he told me was that it had nothing to do with the lower back, rather it had everything to do with me having weak abs (!) and that doing exercises to strengthen that area would shift the center of gravity to my *ahem* gut and fix my posture thereby eliminating the pain.

wow!  never thought that would be the case at all.  not bad for my first visit to a gym eh?

One thought on “exercise routine

Leave a Reply

