How publishers punish us for buying new games

Ben Kuchera on what he doesn’t want to do when he buys a new computer game.

Number 2 – installing an update:

Likewise, I don’t want to be stuck installing an update. It’s like a big sign saying “this game wasn’t ready to ship.” I mean, that’s literally what happened. Publishers can now ship a game that doesn’t work, knowing they can push out an update that installs the first time you play the game. So I have an idea: for every megabyte of patch I need to download, I get to punch one person on your development team. I’m not a strong guy, so it won’t hurt that much, but it will make me feel better.

Makes me reminisce those old days when I used to play computer games regularly.

Leave a Reply

