Anyone can go to heaven, just be good!

At least thats what the bumper sticker on a random passing van said.

How I wish I could believe that!

If that were true then I could:

a. Be bad until I was older, then repent, do some good and then go to heaven. There’s no time limit for how long I’d have to be good for either.

b. Question what standard of ‘good’ I had to achieve. My standard might not be as high as a monk but it’s certainly higher than the murderer in jail. So yup, by my standards I’d already be guaranteed a place in heaven.

•••

Pity that’s not how the Lord sees it.

To him, all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. Therefore no one can be considered righteous.

Furthermore the only way to heaven is through Christ. For He is the way the truth and light and no one goes to the Father except through him.

In other words the only way to heaven is through Jesus. No amount of ‘good’ by anyone’s standards could ever get you there.

Leave a Reply

