Changes

Here are a couple of changes that have been swirling around in my head the past couple of days. Changes to do with how I post stuff online.

Firstly I like to share. Be it some text that I’ve written, my thoughts on an article I’ve read or a doodle or photo I’ve taken, I do find that I enjoy posting things online. It’s something that I’ve been doing since 2005 when I started my first blog. Back then what began as a journal became something more as I tried to define my online voice.

7 years later I’m still at it, though not necessarily at the pace I enjoyed before.

Other services have risen (Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr) and gone (Friendster, Blogger in it’s original form) in that time. All have sought to split the time and energy that I have vested in my online presence which gets limited more and more as I journey through different stages of my life. As an architect, full time father, husband and christian it’s been challenging, to say the least, to maintain even a semblance of intention to the things that I have been doing online and to even create any sort of interesting narrative other than the odd post detailing how things have been for the past months.

That’s not quite what I envisioned when I started posting online and it’s not quite how I want to keep those who follow this blog updated on what’s been going on in my life.

So as my first act, I will be keeping my twitter and tumblr accounts active but I will no longer be posting any original content to them. This blog at wordpress will be my one and only platform for updates, curated articles and posts. All updates here will automatically be posted to Twitter, tumblr and whichever service I decide to link to in future, thanks to the sharing options in WordPress. I’ve always felt that maintaining a presence in different platforms was far too fragmented and lacked that minimalistic philosophy that I so desire in my designs at work. Cutting out the rest and focusing on one platform alone creates a level of truthfulness that I like. 

I also want to be able to control the content that I generate and not split it into so many different areas anymore. What I post on twitter should be good enough to be posted on wordpress or vice versa. This way though I’ll be able to have one constant stream of posts that I can check back on and be able to archive properly.

Furthermore this will help me to focus on generating content rather than having to decide what platform best suits the content I wish to publish. Wordpress is by far the most versatile and customisable of the lot and I’ve always felt proud of the content that I publish here because of the additional amount of time and effort it takes to upload a post. Rather than shooting my mouth off with twitter and relentlessly reblogging content on tumblr it’s nice to take a step back and actually think and consider carefully what I want to say before saying it.

That is the disciplined and focused approach that I want to take and I hope that I will be doubly pleased by the result.

Leave a Reply

