Integrity

It’s not always the person who scores highest in his exams or has the fanciest degree that is the one who’s most successful later on in life.

Quite often we hear stories of people who have made it through life and achieved success through sheer determination, what appears to be good luck and a whole lot of hard work.

When you analyse some of these stories more in depth you might find that part of their success had to do with the employing of questionable tactics. Sometimes being willing to bend the rules can get you success. But there’s unquestionably no firm foundation for that success.

From what I’ve been observing in life it’s the person with the most integrity that ends up winning in the end. And even if they don’t win they get to at least hold their head up high and sleep peacefully at night knowing that they did what was the good and honest thing.

In my line of work I get to see more of the former than the latter. Crooked contractors, dishonest project managers, lazy consultants who obscure the truth only in order to make themselves appear to be doing a good job when they aren’t. Ultimately their stories end up not adding up and their work is revealed for what it is.

From time to time I too am tempted to cut a few corners to save myself some time or to appear on top of my work in front of the client (even when I clearly have no clue what I’m talking about). No one enjoys being told that they’re wrong in a meeting and my pride often comes in the way.

But nothing is more humbling than when you’ve done something wrong and then have to admit publicly that you are wrong. It’s a bitter pill to swallow but it does wonders to your growth.

It’s made me realise that I’d much rather apologise for being slow, that I don’t know how to do something or that I may have missed something out, than have to apologies for a cover up or act of deceit just so that I can appear good in front of others.

That’s where integrity comes in.

Leave a Reply

