Ron Gilbert’s advice on making another Monkey Island game

Monkey island was the first serious computer game I played as a kid. To date I haven’t played an adventure game that was as funny, creative and frustrating. My favorite will always be ‘Secret of Monkey Island’ and ‘Monkey island 2 – Le chucks revenge’ the original 2 games. The rest of the games that followed were ok but not great.

Unfortunately Ron Gilbert, creator of the Monkey Island games, isn’t about to make another one. Which is a pity because most of his advice about what to put into a new one is pretty good:

Sixteen – If I used Kickstarter, there would be no fancy videos of me trying to look charming (as if I could). No concept art or lofty promises or crazy stretch goals or ridiculous reward tiers. It would be raw and honest. It would be free of hype and distractions that keep me from making the best game I could. True, I wouldn’t raise huge sums of money or break any records, but that’s not what I want to do. I want to make a game.

He didn’t pick the name Grumpy Gamer for nothing.

Leave a Reply

