Microsoft (Yes, Microsoft) Has a Far-Out Vision

Microsoft (Yes, Microsoft) Has a Far-Out Vision:

In recent months I’ve done two things quite out of character. Firstly I’ve installed outlook for iOS on both my iPhone and iPad as my primary email client.

Secondly I’ve signed up for an email account at outlook.com and managed to get a nice email handle which was nice.

What prompted all this? I think it’s a growing trust in the new direction that Microsoft is taking. And it’s founded on the solid work that they are churning out since the change in leadership. Microsoft Word for iPad is a very good app. Outlook for iPhone/iPad (formerly an iOS app called accompli) is actually quite good and made better by some of the features that Microsoft has added like the ‘unsubscribe’ feature which is fantastic.

Lately I’ve found myself optimistic of the direction that Microsoft is taking and am very pleased that they’ve chosen to embrace iOS devices for a change. I’m hoping that they will update their version of Office for Mac.

It’s probably still too early to tell if Microsoft has what it takes to once again take the top spot but it’s an encouraging start and I can’t wait to see what else they’re up to.

Leave a Reply

