Life out of control

Recently our CEO announced that the government was looking to optimise their workforce and that there would be less new hires in future.

Then two of my direct colleagues were transferred to other departments within the organisation. Turns out my department was over staffed with 10 members and 8 staff was all we needed.

A month later and another colleague has become dissatisfied with the work and has since found a new job in another company. So we’re going to be down to 7 staff.

I’ve only been working at my current job for 8 months and already my office landscape has changed significantly.

The same is true worldwide. I hear stories of friends in Australia who have lost jobs or been reassigned to different departments thanks to massive internal reorganization exercises. Job security as we once knew it seems to fleeting at best.

Life isn’t stable in the least. My naive impression as a child was that I’d grow up, get a job, work at it for the rest of my life, retire and then die. But the corporate world these days is so fraught with change. New management styles, disruptive technologies and scarcity of skilled labour make the working environment highly volatile. Throw in an economic recession and things get even more dramatic. These days the idea of sticking to the same job for your lifetime is sadly a kind of quaint and old-fashioned notion

I’ve been making plans and taking actions to try to give myself some semblance of control over my destiny but they never really pan out. The truth is that the only influence you have is over your own actions and to a very small extent the decisions and plans of those who you directly interact with.

There are many invisible processes going on behind the scenes all the time and these have far more bearing on us as individuals than our own decisions.

Proverbs 16:9 comes to mind again and again.

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.

Good thing He is a good God and He’s never steered me in a direction I couldn’t deal with or wasn’t good for me and my family.

Leave a Reply

