Fan of the Grim Fandango

Cover Art

I just finished playing through the iOS version of my much loved game, Grim Fandango.
Despite coming from way back in 1998 (almost 20 years ago now!) the game is still a gem. The graphics are cartoony enough to still hold up well without looking aged and the storyline is still just as intriguing and delightful as it was when I first played the game. 

The dialogue though is on an entirely different level! So witty, so funny and so well written. Despite knowing how to play the game all the way through I could not resist going talking to all the characters till I ran out of options to choose. 

And that soundtrack! Wow…

This game really represents the best of what point and click adventures could be about. An immersive experience with characters you really felt attached to. Even though the game technically spans 4 years, I just can’t get enough of it. 

I’m delighted that the developer, Tim Schafer, has started his own company at Double Fine Games in order to keep making incredible games. I’ve heard good things about both Broken Age and The Cave. 

In fact, I’ve actually purchase a copy of The Cave but never got round to playing it through. Now may be just the time to pick it up. 

